This subsidy award is intended to support an increase in specialty certification in geriatric or gerontology nursing in Wisconsin. Applications will be reviewed on a case-by-case basis. Successful applicants will meet the following criteria:
~ Reside in Wisconsin AND employed in a setting that provides care for geriatric clients withing the state of Wisconsin.
~ Licensed as a Registered Nurse (RN) or Advanced Practice Nurse Practitioner (APNP) in Wisconsin and in good standing with the Wisconsin Board of Nursing.
~ Intend to take an Adult Geriatric or Geriatric Nursing Certification or Credentialing exam within six months of this application.
~ Provide, on request, a current job description and/or validation of planned employment showing that certification is required.
~ The Geriatric Certification Subsidy will be applied only to first-time certification applicants and cannot be used for renewal of existing certifications or credentials.
Eligible certifications, offered by the American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC) and endorsed by the American Geriatrics Society, are as follows:
Gerentological Nursing Certification
Adult-Gerontology Clinical Nurse Specialist (CNS)
Gerontological Clinical Nurse Specialist (CNS)
Adult-Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner (NP)
Adult-Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner (NP)